New Orleans: A Poll

So, this is my first time using a poll, y’all! I left out another topic that makes me a terrible food snob who is no fun to eat out with unless you too are a food snob.

Waiting for a table. What the fuck is up with waiting over an hour for a table at a fucking Mexican restaurant? Seriously. My husband and I met our friends for dinner at Tony’s Mexican restaurant (this has also happened at the aforementioned Lupe’s Tortilla). We waited OVER AN HOUR to be seated. For CHEESE ENCHILADAS. Not mussels steamed in a cream and butter sauce with shallots, mint chiffonade, and pimental, but corn tortillas rolled up in a cheese food that came out of a can. I was LIVID. I wanted to punch someone in the face. Granted, I had low blood sugar which was the true reason why I wanted to punch someone in the face. But I couldn’t believe that we were waiting for this. I even asked our group if anyone else thought it was ludicrous to wait for Mexican food. They all looked at me and said “Well, it’s really good food.’

No. No it,s not. Not to that extent. Hey, I love Mexican food. When it is cheap and I don’t have to wait for a seat. Sometimes I am in the mood for grease and hydrogenated oils and refined flour. But I am never in the mood to pay a lot and wait over an hour for it.

Here are some things I will wait for. And even make reservations for. I always mess up this link stuff. My husband wants to take me a nice restaurant in NOLA. So, we are deciding between this or this.

I am feeling an affinity for Galatroise but the guy running the guest house that we are staying in suggested Commander’s Palace which is walking distance to where we are staying.

Oh my God! I cannot wait to go back. It will be my second time to go there. I cannot wait to write about it. Okay, so here is the poll. I am so excited to try this.

About Foxy Foodie

Welcome! I live in Houston, Texas with my husband, our Jack Russell Terrier Atticus, our cat Maxwell "Max" Silverpaws, three hermit crabs and three fish. I started this blog because I love food, I love being healthy, and I love combining the two. I also think it's important to let loose and enjoy yourself from time to time without beating yourself up. Along with this blog I am a writer, actress, and director here in Houston. I also teach at a local community college in the fall and spring and work as a bartender during the summer. The things that make me the happiest are dark chocolate, delicious raw vegan recipes, fresh baked bread that I made myself, ethnic food, a good rainstorm, the moon, the ocean, a good bottle of wine, strong black coffee, local produce, raw honey, farmer's markets, spicy wings with blue cheese dressing, stinky cheese, oysters and mussels, bubble baths, dancing, shoes, lingerie, The Beatles, Led Zeppelin, my friends, my pets, and most of all my wonderful husband who makes the world a brighter place to live in.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

