New T-shirt slogan: I Put Out For Sushi

Once again I am feeling a food rant coming on. I love sushi. LOVE it. Like love it enough to show strange men my fun bags for some sushi. That’s how much I love it. I should get a T-shirt that reads “I put out for sushi”.

I am also a bit of a purist where sushi is concerned. When I first tried sushi, I was barely twenty, vegan, and not a fan of raw meat or fish. My how the times have changed. As you can imagine my first reaction to the concept if trying sushi was “Ewww, gross! I’m not eating raw fish.” My friend, who was also a veggie at the time, assured me that it wouldn’t be as bad as I thought. Somewhere inside me was a little tiny foodie screaming to get out because I decided I wanted to try it. We ordered avocado and cucumber maki rolls. They were delicious. I loved the seaweed rolled around the rice. I honestly think I liked the wasabi the most. Anything in the horse-radish family makes me happy. From then on I was hooked. But my taste changed over the years. I became more adventurous but I was eating all these weird rolls that while tasty, are not what I would call authentic. As I have become more interested in different types of cultures and ethnic food, I have also become more concerned with how true to the culture the food I am eating is.

Sushi is one of the most Americanized foods I have experienced. I love a good tiger eye role as much as the next wasabi junkie but some of these rolls are too much. What is wrong with keeping it simple?

Tuna rolls!

One birthday a few years back, I chose to go have sushi. I ordered something called a New Orleans roll. It was okay.

It had Tony Sachari’s seasoning on it. I couldn’t keep the curl of disgust off of my lips. What the fuck? I don’t want that shit in my fucking sushi. Since then, I have eschewed the fancy rolls and stuck with the basics. Just a nice piece of fish, some seaweed, and some rice is all you need. I don’t even like a lot of soy sauce on it. You want to taste the fish, people. Don’t be a pussy.

I also remember going to Ra Sushi in highland Village. It was okay. The wackiest I get with sushi these days is a spicy salmon or tuna roll, which I ordered. My friend ordered something called the Texas Tuna roll, or something like that. It was basically a chunk of tuna sashimi placed on top of rice and then the whole thing had been breaded and fried. Yeah, but no. No, thank you.

I cannot describe the way a good piece of sushi-grade salmon tastes and feels when you are eating it. It is just heaven. It’s almost sweet, tastes nothing like seafood and positively melts in your mouth. Good sashimi is never chewy, but always buttery and satiny soft.

My husband made sushi last night for our wedding anniversary. He forgot the cream cheese. You know what, it was perfect without.  Just tuna, salmon, rice, and a fresh jalapeno.

Keep it simple. You won’t regret it.

About Foxy Foodie

Welcome! I live in Houston, Texas with my husband, our Jack Russell Terrier Atticus, our cat Maxwell "Max" Silverpaws, three hermit crabs and three fish. I started this blog because I love food, I love being healthy, and I love combining the two. I also think it's important to let loose and enjoy yourself from time to time without beating yourself up. Along with this blog I am a writer, actress, and director here in Houston. I also teach at a local community college in the fall and spring and work as a bartender during the summer. The things that make me the happiest are dark chocolate, delicious raw vegan recipes, fresh baked bread that I made myself, ethnic food, a good rainstorm, the moon, the ocean, a good bottle of wine, strong black coffee, local produce, raw honey, farmer's markets, spicy wings with blue cheese dressing, stinky cheese, oysters and mussels, bubble baths, dancing, shoes, lingerie, The Beatles, Led Zeppelin, my friends, my pets, and most of all my wonderful husband who makes the world a brighter place to live in.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

