I’m BACK… and ready to talk Lola’s

I’m back! It’s been over a year. In that year, I started grad school, so I didn’t have time for writing. I did have time for eating though.

The husband and I were ravenous so we decided we had to try some place new, so we went here

I had driven by Lola’s many times but when i checked out the menu, I was always a little bit underwhelmed with it. Salads and sandwiches tend to leave me feeling a bit empty. But this morning I saw chicken and waffles on the menu and the game was on.

Image

We headed over, found a parking spot in their decently sized parking lot and ordered. I confirmed with the cashier that the chicken was fried because what would be the point otherwise. The husband ordered the ham and three-cheese omelet, with sausage, grits, and sour dough toast.

Image

I can’t speak for the omelet, except to say that the husband loved it. My dish was delicious.

Image

Now, if you have had the wings and waffles at the Breakfast Klub, you have been spoiled. The Breakfast Klub still reigns supreme in my book as far as wings and waffles go, but these aren’t far behind. The Breakfast Klub uses dark meat, usually wings or thighs, which I prefer. Lola’s uses the breast, which appears to be tenderized and the breading is nice and crispy. It was a bit dry, but not enough to be distracting. The waffle was fluffy, and came with a side of butter and syrup and had a dollop of whipped cream covering a mixture of berries.

The thing that makes Lola’s stand out is the quality. My dish featured local, free-range chicken and natural applewood smoked bacon.

It was agreed that we would certain;y go back. Check out their website here

About Foxy Foodie

Welcome! I live in Houston, Texas with my husband, our Jack Russell Terrier Atticus, our cat Maxwell "Max" Silverpaws, three hermit crabs and three fish. I started this blog because I love food, I love being healthy, and I love combining the two. I also think it's important to let loose and enjoy yourself from time to time without beating yourself up. Along with this blog I am a writer, actress, and director here in Houston. I also teach at a local community college in the fall and spring and work as a bartender during the summer. The things that make me the happiest are dark chocolate, delicious raw vegan recipes, fresh baked bread that I made myself, ethnic food, a good rainstorm, the moon, the ocean, a good bottle of wine, strong black coffee, local produce, raw honey, farmer's markets, spicy wings with blue cheese dressing, stinky cheese, oysters and mussels, bubble baths, dancing, shoes, lingerie, The Beatles, Led Zeppelin, my friends, my pets, and most of all my wonderful husband who makes the world a brighter place to live in.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

