Question About the Bee Situation… Seriously

So, I love raw local honey. And while I am scared of bees (yes, I know I’m a big pussy),when one gets in the house, I take a deep breath and capture the little guy and set him free outside.

I do this for two reason: 1) They are really necessary for the earth, and life in general. They serve a major, undeniable purpose on this planet, 2) In spite of my fear of being stung, I love their little furry bodies with their black and yellow stripes.

So, are we fucking the bees royally by buying honey? Or is a matter of where we’re getting it from? For example, if we buy some mass produced crap at Kroger’s, is that different from buying it from a local farm run by a family who takes care of their bees.

I like to imagine that beekeepers treat their bees like pets. I’m also really weird and should probably research this.

About Foxy Foodie

Welcome! I live in Houston, Texas with my husband, our Jack Russell Terrier Atticus, our cat Maxwell "Max" Silverpaws, three hermit crabs and three fish. I started this blog because I love food, I love being healthy, and I love combining the two. I also think it's important to let loose and enjoy yourself from time to time without beating yourself up. Along with this blog I am a writer, actress, and director here in Houston. I also teach at a local community college in the fall and spring and work as a bartender during the summer. The things that make me the happiest are dark chocolate, delicious raw vegan recipes, fresh baked bread that I made myself, ethnic food, a good rainstorm, the moon, the ocean, a good bottle of wine, strong black coffee, local produce, raw honey, farmer's markets, spicy wings with blue cheese dressing, stinky cheese, oysters and mussels, bubble baths, dancing, shoes, lingerie, The Beatles, Led Zeppelin, my friends, my pets, and most of all my wonderful husband who makes the world a brighter place to live in.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

