I’m Back, Bitches!: Or An Adventure At Mala Sichuan Bistro.

Last night my husband, a friend of ours, and I derided to go out to eat. We couldn’t decide where to go so we just got in the car and started driving which made my husband’s butt cheeks clinch up. Then I remembered the Sichuan restaurant located where Mo Mong used to be. I have never had Sichuan and have always wanted to try it. This experience made me come back here and write on my food blog that hardly anyone reads after a few years off from it. It was that good.

I was so hungry and ate so quickly that not only did I probably scare and disgust most of the people dining around us, but I didn’t have time to tale pictures. So instead, I offer you a picture of my dog, because he was very cute and photogenic and will make you smile.

atticus robe

As appetizers we split the mala tofu and peanut dish which basically consist of tofu, peanuts and green onions floating in hot chili oil. We also ordered one of the cold dishes: pork belly wrapped cucumbers in hot chili oil. Mark got the dry pot spicy beef and Tony and I split the aromatic and spicy prawns. We also ordered a side of bok choy for the table.

I was initially interested in ordering the green peppercorn flounder, but the waitress advised me to try the peppercorns first, explaining that they had numbing effect that not everyone found pleasing. Each of us tried one and it began with the flavor of a typical peppercorn and then turned to a more citrus puckering, numbing sensation, so we opted not to get anything from the peppercorn section of the menu.

The bok choy was clean and mild, with chunks of garlic and dried chilies, which were very spicy if you ate one whole. The spicy and aromatic prawns were salty, savory, and spicy with a mild sweetness to it that was mild enough to not overpower the heat and complexity of the flavors in he dish. This dish also had dried chilies and julienned jalapenos. Mark’s dry pot beef was also spicy with a more citrus nuance and the beef was tender. The pork belly wrapped cucumber was fresh, cold, aromatic, and also had a nice heat. If you like peanuts, the mala tofu peanut dish is delicious and spicy.

They have a few options for vegans/vegetarians such as the Mapo Tofu and the above mentioned Mala tofu appetizer. The also have plenty of seafood dishes for the pescetarians out there. As of yet they do not have a liqueur license, so you may not be able to order wine with dinner. The waitress informed us that they are working on that. However, I believe you can bring your own because I did see several other diners with wine and beer at their tables.

Mala Sichuan still has their original location in Chinatown and, as our waitress explained, they have an authentic classic Sichuan menu. They still have authentic Sichuan options at their Montrose location, but also some modified options for those who need something a little less authentic.

Mala Sichuan Bistro is located at 1201 Westheimer, Houston, Rexas 77006.

#Sichuan #Montrose #Cantonese

About Foxy Foodie

Welcome! I live in Houston, Texas with my husband, our Jack Russell Terrier Atticus, our cat Maxwell "Max" Silverpaws, three hermit crabs and three fish. I started this blog because I love food, I love being healthy, and I love combining the two. I also think it's important to let loose and enjoy yourself from time to time without beating yourself up. Along with this blog I am a writer, actress, and director here in Houston. I also teach at a local community college in the fall and spring and work as a bartender during the summer. The things that make me the happiest are dark chocolate, delicious raw vegan recipes, fresh baked bread that I made myself, ethnic food, a good rainstorm, the moon, the ocean, a good bottle of wine, strong black coffee, local produce, raw honey, farmer's markets, spicy wings with blue cheese dressing, stinky cheese, oysters and mussels, bubble baths, dancing, shoes, lingerie, The Beatles, Led Zeppelin, my friends, my pets, and most of all my wonderful husband who makes the world a brighter place to live in.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

